What we Believe

                                    Welcome to the Website of

             Barnes Baptist Church

                                               Lonsdale Road, Barnes, London, SW13 9QL






                                                                                                                                    Visit our youtube page:  https://youtu.be/KNTReucy3Xc   



  1. The one true God who lives eternally in three Persons - The Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit.
  2. The love, grace and sovereignty of God in creating, sustaining, ruling, redeeming and judging the world.
  3. The divine inspiration and authority of the Old and New Testament Scriptures, which are the written word of God – fully trustworthy for faith and conduct.
  4. The dignity of all people, made male and female in God’s image to love, be holy and care for creation, yet corrupted by sin, which incurs divine wrath and judgement.
  5. The incarnation of God’s eternal Son, the Lord Jesus Christ – born of the Virgin Mary, truly divine and truly human, yet without sin.
  6. The atoning sacrifice of Christ on the cross: dying in our place, praying the price of sin and defeating evil, so reconciling us with God.
  7. The bodily resurrection of Christ, the 'firstfruits' of our resurrection; his ascension to the Father and his reign and mediation as the only Saviour of the world
  8. The justification of sinners solely by the grace of God through faith in Jesus Christ.
  9. The baptism of believers as a personal testimony to, and public witness of, their faith in Jesus Christ as Saviour and Lord.
  10. The ministry of God The Holy Spirit, who leads us to repentance, unites us with Christ through new birth, empowers our discipleship and enables our witness.
  11. The Church, the body of Christ both local and universal, the priesthood of all believers - given life by the Spirit and endowed with the Spirit's gifts to worship God and proclaim the gospel, promoting justice and love.
  12. The personal and visible return of Jesus Christ to fulfil the purposes of God, who will raise all people to judgement, bring eternal life in this new creation to the redeemed and eternal seperation to those who have rejected his love and grace

                                                                                                 Adapted from the Evangelical Alliance Basis of Faith